First time…

November 11, 2009

I have wanted to start a blog for a long time now but always hesitated….so many decisions: the perfect title, the perfect first post, the perfect theme and colors, and on and on. However, now I realize that having a blog is not about displaying words or colors of perfection. Rather, this is just a place for me to articulate my thoughts, my passions, my current favorites, etc.

Truthfully, I am really not sure what direction I want this blog to go in. I wish I had a clear vision at the moment, but I feel there are several areas I want to explore. I would like to talk about food, recipes, new eats, and display pictures of this. I would like to talk about health trends, health practices, natural health alternatives, holistic nutrition, etc. I would like to talk about books, my favorite authors, and the ideas and themes explored in each. I might even like to have some mindless chat about the entertainment industry and mindless, but admittedly compelling, reality television.

So, in truth I could have 3 or 4 different blogs to talk about everything. But if I debate which direction is best, I will never get a blog up and running at all. So this is instead going to be an opportunity for me to just write; explore my writing style, my interests, my passions, my desires, etc. Then in future, I may have a better idea of what kind of path I want a blog to take and create a whole new plan.

Personally, I am at a sort of cross-roads in my life right now. One that I feel would be inappropriate to divulge on an internet space, even if it is anonymous or no one reads it. But the details are really not important anyway. Rather the important point now is that my health is a main focus in my life right now: my mind, body, and spirit. I am physically and mentally attempting to nourish my body and soul and find myself. I do not want to be too *soft* here; I am actually more of a no-nonsense, blunt kind of gal…but past and recent happenings in my life have admittedly left me to find more to life and more to myself. Maybe this blog will help that along. As I write more each day, I may decide to make this more a chronicle of my true journey through my health. But like I said, details are not important. What is more interesting and essential to note is that I am focusing right now on healthy nourishment and exploration of myself. So this blog will hopefully help to clear up some of the mud on that path and I can get a clearer picture of my future and true self.

No one may ever read this and truthfully I am not sure I desire it to go beyond a few friends or companions at present moment. But I will see.

One thing I know for sure is that I want to document goals on this blog. I need structure in my daily life, as does anyone. I feel that by writing it down I am able to create a solid plan that will add substance and structure to my day and make me feel more productive, etc.

I hope to make both long-term and short-term goals and take it from there. As time goes on, I will get a better idea of how I would like to track and chronicle my progress. For now, I am going with the flow.

So plans for today:

1. 45- minute walk.

2. 20 – minutes stretching.

3. Read 1 hour.

4. Go to library to update resume.

5. Write a list of all the things I think I might ultimately like to do in life. Write a subsequent list of how these might then be achieved.

This sums up the first post. I feel like Katie Couric now when she first took over the CBS Evening News and was looking for that *signature* sign-off…some quirky and memorable way to end the news and say good-bye to viewers until another day. Well, ultimately she did not find one and did not use one. Instead she decided to just say simple good-byes, seeya, hope you are back tomorrow send-offs.  So I am taking the same approach: no need for fancy or catchy send-offs. Just a simple *chat later* will do…

Leave a Reply

