i could spend hours….

November 14, 2009

in a bookstore.

I went to Chapters recently and spent a long time there.

The things I like? Well I like books. I like books a lot. I like fiction, non-fiction, biography, memoir, cook-books, nutrition books, fitness books, self-help books, etc etc etc. I could go on and on. I always wish I could buy them all….and all too frequently I leave with a book or two bought. I really should not be doing this….I am like the title character in the Shopaholic series: I have little finances but always choose to ignore this when i go into a bookstore ….or food store for that matter (yes, books and food are my passions….apparently).

I am currently reading 3 different books….I do not normally do this…but the 2 of them are *different* so it makes more sense. I am reading The Secret Life of Bees (and enjoying it as I get deeper into it),  and I am reading The China Study by T.Colin Campbell, PHD (though admittedly not a vegetarian!). I have read several books these past few months and I plan to post pics of the books and my thoughts about them. I think I might enjoy that kind of thing…books fascinate me….learning and reading make me feel productive….silly? Maybe. But that is me…I love it.

So are you a reader? Enjoy reading? Anything counts: books, articles, magazines, the back of the dish detergent tub 🙂

On another note, this has been a slow friday, not a personally good day for myself because I learned some distressing information. But I need to move on. I need to be positive and look to the next moment and what I can do to better the situation and myself.

As I mentioned in the previous post, I have a lot of goals in life….many I have not even mentioned. Goals are tricky…tricky when their attainment is both physically and practically very unfeasible at the time or any time in near future. But I must keep head up…head up. No regret…no looking back. The continued dwelling on the past and its grievances and failures and mistakes is only continued waste of time…continued wasted productivity. And why be so hard on oneself? Why torture your body and mind with regret and the past and actions not taken or actions taken that resulted in emptiness?…Move on. The human body has to move on physically and mentally and strive for more. One day at a time because its a process and not an overnight or year-thing (maybe for some…but not for me anyway).

Tonight I am going to be thankful for what I have in life. And further to that I am going to continue each day to move one micromilliter closer to where I need to be in life. Not necessarily want (because we cannot all have everything we want)….but where I need to be.

Good night.

Leave a Reply

